Fred D. Lublin, M.D.

Portrait Fred Lublin
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Fred D. Lublin, M.D.

Dr. Lublin is a neuroimmunologist with a special interest in immune functions and abnormalities that affect the nervous system. He currently serves as the Saunders Family Professor of Neurology and the Director of the Corinne Goldsmith Dickinson Center for Multiple Sclerosis, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York. As one of the world’s foremost experts on experimental therapies for multiple sclerosis (MS), Dr. Lublin transformed patient outcomes with pioneering studies of Interferon beta-1b before the drug received approval from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in 1993 to treat the relapsing-remitting form of the disease. Over the years, his work has received funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Multiple Sclerosis Society (NMSS) and the International Progressive MS Alliance, among other organizations.

Dr. Lublin has served on the Board of MS Hope for a Cure and the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. He also served as past Chairman of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society (USA) advisory committee on clinical trials of new MS drugs and Chairman and National Board Member of the Clinical Advisory Committee of the New York City Chapter of the National MS Society. He has published numerous scientific articles and has served as a consultant to the NIH, as well as to pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies in all phases of drug development, including in preparation for drug presentation to the FDA and its advisory panels.

Dr. Lublin earned his medical degree from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA and completed an externship at the National Hospital for Nervous Diseases in Queen Square, London. He concluded his formal training in New York with an internal medicine internship at Bronx Municipal Hospital, Albert Einstein Medical Center, and a neurology residency at New York Hospital, Cornell Medical Center. In 2018, Dr. Lublin received the Clifford H. Goldsmith Award for Outstanding Service and the June Halper Lifetime Achievement Award from the Consortium of MS Centers in recognition of his long-standing history of innovative research and commitment to excellence in caring for patients with MS.

Back to Team Members